Now Reading
Svetlana Alexievich Wins 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature

Download Issue #2

Svetlana Alexievich Wins 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature


Belarusian writer Svetlana Alexievich has won the 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Svetlana Alexievich is a 67 writer whose non-fiction chronicles the history of the Soviet Union, bringing to life its oral tradition and metamorphosis. Other finalists are

The Swedish Academy¬†said she was awarded the prize “for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time.”

Other finalists includes Ngugi Wa Thong’o, Haruki Murakami, Jon Fosse, Joyce Carol Oates, and Philip Rothe.

The Nobel prize in Literature is given to any writer, who during the course of the year has produced the most outstanding work in Literature. A total of 111 writers have won it since its inception in 1901.

Svetlana Alexievich is the 14th woman to win the prize. The last woman to do so was Alice Munro in 2013.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2019 Mainland Book Cafe. All Rights Reserved.